The ending of tests

Happy half term!

My tests ended last week, and I’m honestly so relieved!
Yes, they weren’t my GCSE’s or anything, but still, wayyyyyy too much pressure for May, a lovely, chill month, the ending of spring, and the start of summer (at least, a little bit)

Overall, my tests went pretty well!

My maths was awful, worse than I expected, but I think though I may be moving down a set next year, there isn’t a need to feel down about it or to over react about it, as you did the best you could. If I’m honest, I didn’t revise as much as I should of, and that ended up making my score plummet pretty bad. Yes, there were worst in my set, and I’m not in a bottom set, I’m in the top of the middle, but I think it’s ok to be decent at some things, bad at a few and good at a few too, because I guess it makes you you.
As I said, I could of done better revising, and I can’t really make any excuses for it. Sure, I’ve offered up lots to people, such as saying it in a jokey way, or pretending I don’t particularly care, but in reality next time I should definitely try more.

Anyway, apart from that, everything went well (at least I hope!)

My English went well, though I didn’t finish it, I got everything down I could in the time we had. If you didn’t know, the English tests are timed in a sort of way, each question equivolating to a rough number of minutes.
They told us when we should go onto section B (the creative part) but I had only just started the last question in section A. I had to make a decision, that to be honest wasn’t too hard to make.
I could try to get 40 marks from section B or I could get 20 marks from the last question in section A.

Obviously I went to section B, and finished that part off, and went straight back to the past question and wrote up as much as I could.
Something you may not know about me, but could of easily guessed, is that I can go on and on for hours, so section B was something I could work with, as you can easily talk about random things and pick out things and blabber on and on about them. I got through to the last page in SB, not finishing the whole page, and had around 7 minutes to finish Q4. I talked about the most random things as I really didn’t get the question, and to end it, wrote “to conclude..” and time was up, so that was the end of it!

My science all went really well, to say that we had less time to do it.
Biology was probably the best, I had 20ish minutes to go after, and the main occurrence I found in this exam was that it was mainly a lot of memory, as are most science tests, but this one more so.

Physics is not a strong point for me, but I finished that with 10ish minutes, and probably forgot the most for that one, but still, was ok

Chemistry is my favourite, and this is the only other test apart from maths that I got back, and I did very good in it to say I’m not in a high set.

Something to mention, I think, is that as a lower student, we don’t get as hard exams, and a lot of people who are in higher sets than u will mention it sometimes.
The two themes I found were I would do well in a test, mention it to one of my friends, and the reply be “well, I had a harder test than you sooooo…..”
Now I’ll be frank. Don’t ever say this. Think it all you must, but don’t say it, please. It’s like picking up a piece of paper, scrunching it into a ball,and burning it (exaggeration!!). All that aside, it just makes you seem rude, and just stop.

The other thing I found was I did bad in a test, and so the person I sit next to goes. “Ohhhh, well at least you got past the quarter mark..” (yes I did that bad in the maths, let’s not say anything more ๐Ÿ˜‚)

Ok, I get it. You are trying to be nice, and find a positive. But then again, reminding someone they did pretty crap in a test doesn’t raise anyone’s self-esteem. You see, my reaction was to say ‘can you stop finding positives in everything?’ And yes, that may seem pretty rude, but in my defence, I’m an extremely pessimistic person sometimes, especially in this class.

The weird simile I’ll use for this one is it’s like your papers on fire, and that person puts out the fire, and starts un crumbling it at stroking it, puts it in a cage and calls it fluffy. No one likes to be patronised, I can promise that.

For the people who cba’ed to read all that…….. I don’t blame u geez I can really relate to that๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

Anyway, I hope that was slightly amusing in..some way… have a great evening!

Cassie x

6 thoughts on “The ending of tests

Leave a Reply

